Day 6: Cornrows

I did these last night while I was watching Star Trek (the new movie). I’m quite pleased with how they turned out – I did them without a mirror, but they ended up pretty even. This is definitely not a quick style! I spent about an hour – hour and a half doing them. Tomorrow I’ll post a quick everyday style, though. I will probably be taking these out before work tonight, so maybe I’ll post a bonus photo of the waves I get from them!

The theory behind these is pretty simple, but they do take some practice to look nice.
Instructions:
1) Split off a section of hair on one side of your part. I made my sections about an inch wide, but you can do yours any width you like.
2) Tie off the two sections you aren’t using so they don’t get in the way.
3) Starting at the front, braid as though you are making a dutch braid. (Put the outer strands UNDER the center). However, instead of adding hair to the two side strands, you’re going to add it to the center strand.
4) Continue in this way until you run out of hair at the nape of your neck. English braid to the end, and tie off.
5) Repeat!
Done!

AND you get a bonus picture! Here’s my hair after I took the cornrows out:

I put my hair into a ponytail afterwards, and this thing is huge! If I measure circumference without squishing it together, I get nine inches. :O

